top of page
  • One Life Missions

Reflections

Though we returned from Togo almost a month ago, the impact our trip is still very much on our hearts and our minds. Here are some reflections from several of the team members:


Addison: "From the moment I decided I wanted to go to Togo all the way until we stepped foot in Africa I prayed so boldly for God to move in me while on this trip, and he did just that. My time in Togo was life changing… My eyes were opened to the world around me and it gave me a whole new perspective. The Togolese people were some of the kindest people I have ever met and they truly made a long lasting impact on me. I came back home really on fire for God and unafraid to share the gospel. I am so thankful for this mission trip and all that God did in my life because of my time in Africa. I really enjoyed getting to know the missionaries there and look forward to being able to continue to partner with them on the journey to reach one more life for Jesus."


Marie: "God showed up big and it was no surprise to anyone that He did! Togo, Africa was an experience of a lifetime. It was incredible to see first-hand the amazing work that is happening with our brothers and sisters in Christ in Togo. It was even more incredible to be hit with the realization that the same God we worship here in Phoenix is the same halfway across the world in Togo, and He continues to be the same God from the heavily populated to the most remote parts of the world, especially in the face of blatant spiritually adversity. What an incredible God we love and serve! The people of Togo were, by far, my absolute favorite part of the trip. Hearing their stories, learning about their journeys, and being able to walk life with them for even a few days was such a blessing to me! In those moments, I saw God come alive in the absolute surrender that they had worshipping, sharing their testimony, and welcoming us into their lives. It was truly inspiring and humbling to see the fire in their hearts to share the simple message of the Gospel to all, as we all were commanded to do - Matthew 28: 19-20.


Something that kept coming to me during the trip - whether through quiet devotion or fellowship with the missionaries or Togolese people was this thought: "Your yoke is easy and your burden is light." What an encouragement this was! Our mission is to spread the Gospel, to spread the light of Jesus. We are called to be obedient to share His word, therefore we can free ourselves from the burden of "saving people" because only God can do that! I think so often we are also hindered by thoughts of rejection or judgement but seeing firsthand how bold and courageous the Togolese are at sharing their faith was wildly inspiring. It gives one pause for thought on how we are sharing the Gospel in our everyday lives...


Mission trips always have a humbling effect on those who take on that adventure - but more so - it has a burdening effect on people's hearts. A burden to share the Gospel, a burden to pray for those around the world who do not yet know the Jesus we love, a burden to be different for His glory, a burden to fight for justice, a burden to love our neighbors, a burden to be more like Jesus in the most difficult of moments when that is the furthest thing from our minds. Togo, Africa has a special place in my heart because it has absolutely placed a burden that I had not yet experienced before - but one that now burns deeply. We are called to be His hands and His feet...I am honored that I got to walk alongside some pretty incredible people to answer His call in Togo. "


Julie: "Every mission trip I’ve ever gone on has been incredible and life-changing and the trip to Togo was no different. I could go on and on, but there are two specific stories from the trip that stand out to me. The first one occurred when we attended one of the local churches. After the service ended, a pregnant woman asked the missionary if she could get a ride home. The missionary’s truck was already full so the pregnant lady sat in the back. On the way home it began pouring rain. She sat on the side of the truck bed on a bumpy dirt road in the rain for about twenty minutes. When we pulled up to the road that led to her house she got down, ran to the passenger window and waved energetically with a huge smile on her face. I remember being so struck in that moment at the level of dedication to attending church by these young Togolese believers.


The other interaction that impacted me the most happened in one of the local markets. I was trying to choose a purse as a gift for my daughter, Sophie. A woman came up to me and started pointing towards her materials, trying to indicate that she had made the purses herself. I took my phone out and showed a picture of Sophie, indicating the purse was going to be for her. She smiled, told me the purse was going to cost $4,000 francs and began looking for change when I handed her a $5,000 bill. I waved my hand, trying to say I didn’t need any change. She fell at my feet and hugged me around my waist. I was so moved by her emotion. She told me in very broken English that she would be able to feed her kids that day. Immediately I was humbled. We were from different countries, spoke different languages, had a different skin color and culture, but we were both moms just trying to love our children well. I wished I could do so much more for her. In fact I was about ready to buy every purse she had in her little shop. Poverty, abuse, corruption and all the other worldwide problems are so heart-wrenching and frustrating, but I know the most important thing we can offer people is hope through Jesus. That woman needs to know Jesus and it is my calling, responsibility and honor to continue traveling to the ends of the earth so that everyone can hear the gospel.


My hope is that more and more people from One Life will join me; I dream of the impact that we will have."


Pam: "This was another amazing mission trip! The missionaries that hosted us, drove us around and answered all my crazy questions were the best. The work they are doing in Togo is working! The children's area, women's ministry and the pastor mentoring is all showing their efforts and the gospel is being shared. Togo is heavily influenced by Voodoo and the Christians experience a lot of spiritual warfare. Even in that environment the people that we met and visited are friendly, warm and loving. I hope to go back someday soon!"






25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rooted

bottom of page